W2LIE.net: Serving Long Island's Scanning Needs Since 2005

Submit your quote!
http://www.monitorlongisland.com/advertise
Sponsored By:
http://www.breakingnewsnetwork.com   http://www.longislandfirephotos.com http://www.scannermaster.com/?Click=6262
  http://www.monitorlongisland.com/advertise

Main Menu
Monthly Donations

Please help support this site
Donations will be used to cover monthly web space
Thank You !!


Premium Membership
You are not a Premium Member

Why not sign up today and take advantage of premium benefits?
Benefits include:
  • shopping discounts
  • Web Controlled Radio
  • Immediate Access to Archived Audio
  • Ad Free Browsing

Please Click here for more info

Welcome Guest
Username:

Password:


Remember me

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
 Currently Online (13)
There are 11798 members
Newest member: Seagravebuff60

 Last Visitors
 Members on Today: 10


 



Forums
W2LIE.net | Monitor Long Island, Inc. :: Forums :: Radios and Hardware :: Uniden
Moderators: w2lie, Chieftaz, BobLandau, quint14, LI_Scan_Guy, cwerner
Go to page       >>  

BCT 15 PROGRAMING HELP

<< Previous thread | Next thread >>



Print View Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 04:59pm
Posted by: mfd434Posts: 6
Old Display Name: mfd434
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 11:21pm

I have a bct15 trying to program it using the butel software and its saying the computer can't communicate with the scanner i've read the owners manual and still can't figure out what wrong




Back to top

Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 05:18pm

Posted by: w2liePosts: 2797

User Buff Group ID
Old Display Name: w2lie
Location: Long Island, NY
Your Admin
Premium Member Premium Member
Joined: Fri Nov 04 2005, 03:28am

A few questions to begin with:
Are you using a USB to serial adapter, straight serial, or the Uniden USB cable?
For either, do you see the device in Windows Device Manager when you plug it in? Does it assign a com port?

When you setup your radio, I assume your using the front data port. When you go into the radio setup, and select Serail Port, Front Port, what baud rate are you setting?

Back to top Website MSN IM User Gallery Myspace Facebook YouTube Album
Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 05:25pm
Posted by: mfd434Posts: 6
Old Display Name: mfd434
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 11:21pm

I'm using USB to serial adapter to the rear port and im using 57600 and then i have the program set to the same and the driver tell me it working
Back to top
Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 05:37pm

Posted by: w2liePosts: 2797

User Buff Group ID
Old Display Name: w2lie
Location: Long Island, NY
Your Admin
Premium Member Premium Member
Joined: Fri Nov 04 2005, 03:28am

I would start by lowering the baud rate down to 38400 at the fastest. I have the best luck at 19200 using serial data.

Have you tried the USB to Serial adapter on other types of devices with success? What port number does your PC give that USB to Serial Device?

Once you bring your baud rate on the software and radio down to 19200, see if the BuTel software can find the radio.


Finally - be sure your using the correct version of the software. ARC15 won't work on the BC15XT, only the BCT-15. Likewise, the ARCXT won't work on the BCT-15, only the "XT" class radios.
Back to top Website MSN IM User Gallery Myspace Facebook YouTube Album
Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 05:47pm
Posted by: mfd434Posts: 6
Old Display Name: mfd434
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 11:21pm

the cable works on my 396 and im using the arc 15
Back to top
Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 05:56pm
Posted by: mfd434Posts: 6
Old Display Name: mfd434
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 11:21pm

even tried lowering baud rate
Back to top
Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 06:09pm

Posted by: w2liePosts: 2797

User Buff Group ID
Old Display Name: w2lie
Location: Long Island, NY
Your Admin
Premium Member Premium Member
Joined: Fri Nov 04 2005, 03:28am

Ok, so the cable, and USB Converter are ruled out as problems. The only thing I can think of is a faulty serial port on the radio (which I haven't seen personally yet)

What Com port are you using? I usually try and keep mine below 20 if I am using some serial programs.
Have you tried talking to the BCT15 with other software, like Freescan? [link]
If so, does it work with the other software? That should tell us if it is a radio or software problem.
Back to top Website MSN IM User Gallery Myspace Facebook YouTube Album
Posted: Thu Apr 26 2012, 06:53pm
Posted by: mfd434Posts: 6
Old Display Name: mfd434
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 11:21pm

Im useing com 1.. is there a way I can call you or maybe stop your shop
Back to top
Posted: Fri Apr 27 2012, 01:52am

Posted by: w2liePosts: 2797

User Buff Group ID
Old Display Name: w2lie
Location: Long Island, NY
Your Admin
Premium Member Premium Member
Joined: Fri Nov 04 2005, 03:28am

No reason why Com-1 shouldn't work. I'll shoot you a PM
Back to top Website MSN IM User Gallery Myspace Facebook YouTube Album
Posted: Fri Apr 27 2012, 01:57am
Posted by: mfd434Posts: 6
Old Display Name: mfd434
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 11:21pm

i even tried Free scan i have to be doing something wrong
Back to top
W2LIE.net Scanner Programming
Go to page       >>   

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System






Link to w2lie.net
Click the sample image below for Link Codes




Advertisers

http://www.w2lie.net/apps/content/content.php?content.26

http://www.longislandfirephotos.com

http://www.copshopny.com

 

 

http://www.ehamstore.com

http://secure.hostgator.com/~affiliat/cgi-bin/affiliates/clickthru.cgi?id=plichten

http://www.monitorlongisland.com/advertise

http://www.monitorlongisland.com/advertise

http://www.monitorlongisland.com/advertise

All original content is copyright 2005-2019, Monitor Long Island, Inc. All rights reserved.
The original content herein may not be used with out the express written consent of Monitor Long Island, Inc.

Live feeds may not be abused in any manner. Please read the Live Feed Terms of Service: [link]
e107 Disclaimer can be found here: [link]